NOS Literary Prize

Organisational structure

1. Trustees’ Council
The highest rule-making body of the Prize is the Trustees Council formed from the Founders Council, the Expert Council and the Executive Directorate of the Mikhail Prokhorov Foundation.

The powers of the Trustees Council include the following:
- determining, supplementing and amending the Rules for the Prize, and also ensuring that they are complied with;
- choosing the President of the Prize;
- choosing and making a partial annual rotation in the members of the Prize jury;
- designing and approving a logotype and other attributes for the Prize.

2. President
The president is one of the Prizes two highest executive bodies.

The president is the Prizes public face, and is elected by the Trustees Council from among highly regarded social and public figures (both in Russia and abroad) for a term of four years (with the possibility of being re-elected for a second term). The presidents powers include the following:
- representing the Prize in public, and announcing its main rules;
- participating in selection of the Prize jury;
- preparing and conducting the jury's final debates;
- presenting the awards to the winners.

3. Organising Committee
The Organising Committee is the Prizes second highest executive body.

The Organising Committee consists of the Chairman of the organising committee and the directors of special programmes.
The duties of the organising committee Chairman are as follows:
- organising the work of the Prize over the year;
- taking care of the jurys work (agreeing a longlist, providing materials to all members of the jury and the president of the Prize, arranging sessions of the jury, etc.);
- public relations, and promoting the Prize in the media;
- arranging the preparation of and conducting presentations, debates and other events for the Prize.

4. Jury
The Prizes working body is the jury, which consists of five people (four members + the chairman). The jury is established by the Prizes Trustees Council in conjunction with the Prizes President from literary, cultural and social figures from any country who speak fluent Russian and are well acquainted with the Russian literary context.
The duties of the jury members are as follows:
- making a shortlist of finalists (at least six, but no more than 10) from the works submitted for the Prize;
- choosing the winner in a format of public debates with a justification of the criteria for the choice.

Choosing the finalists and the winner proceeds by consensus, and in particularly contentious case by an open vote. Decisions are taken by a simple majority.

The chairman of the jury is entitled to use a casting vote.